ISSN 1973-9141

Research is a movement of thought that does not depend on established cultural codes or specialized savoirs. It is neither disciplinary, nor bound to produce certified, true knowledge. In other words, research is open and endless. Predicated upon these premises, lo Squaderno is a free web journal devoted to explore and advance an array of research movements.

Launched in 2006, and continuously published ever since, lo Squaderno collects original short features by people committed to research in various fields across the social and human sciences. Each issue is structured around a thematic focus within the broad framework of space, power & society.

Until 2019, lo Squaderno used to be a quarterly publication. Starting from 2020, it has turned into a triannual publication. Three issues per year are published – in March, July, and November. The choice of shifting to three issues per year seeks to ensure the production of each issue in a timely and efficient manner, devoting as much attention as possible to each single contribution, possibly developing new concepts with the guest artists in a more sustained way. Each journal issue is illustrated by a single guest artist, and we do not usually publish article-specific illustrations.

lo Squaderno  publishes monographic issues only: all submitted articles should be clearly addressed to a published Call for Papers.

The journal is published online under a Creative Commons Licence and is thus offered to the reader freely in Open Access. Just click on the picture of the  cover to download the issue. The journal does not charge authors any handling or publication fees. It allows authors to retain full copyright and publishing rights.

lo Squaderno is a project by Andrea Mubi Brighenti and Cristina Mattiucci, who currently co-edit the journal with Andrea Pavoni. The project is supported by Paul Blokker (political theory) and Giusi Campisi (contemporary arts).

Each issue of the journal takes advantage of the specific competence of a Scientific Advisory Board (see the list of guest co-editors below) and is enriched by the sharing of knowledge and ideas from all its previous authors and contributors. lo Squaderno is open to guest editors and thematic issues proposals. Please also have a look at our editorial process information.

You can contact us at losquaderno≤at≥gmail≤.≥com.


* * *


Monographic issues co-editors : Javier Abarca (freelance), Sandra Annunziata (☥), Marcello Anselmo (Audiodoc), Emiliana Armano (State University of Milan), Paolo Barberi (Università La Sapienza di Roma),  Laura Basco (Università Federico II Napoli), Paolo Boccagni (Università di Trento),  Christian Borch ( Copenhagen Business School), Alberto Brodesco (Università di Trento), Attila Bruni (Università di Trento), Adriano Cancellieri (Università IUAV di Venezia), Anna Casaglia (Università di Trento), Sebastiano Citroni (Università di Milano Bicocca), Claudio Coletta (National University of Ireland, Maynooth), Micol Cossali (Museo Storico del Trentino), Alessia Debiase (ENSA Paris-La Villette), Michiel Dehaene (Ghent University), Nick Dines (Università Ca’ Foscari), Giacomo D’Alisa (Universidad Autonóma de Barcelona), Jérôme Denis (Mines ParisTech), Duccio Dogheria (Museo d’Arte Contemporanea Trento Rovereto), Claudia Faraone (Università IUAV di Venezia),  Francesco Gori (Università degli Studi di Palermo), Jaspar Joseph-Lester (Royal College of Art London), Mattias Kärrholm (Lund University), Paolo Magaudda (Università di Padova), Tessa Matteini (Università di Firenze), Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos (University of Westminster), Lorenzo Navone (Université de Strasbourg), Lea Nocera (Università L’Orientale di Napoli), Andreas Oberprantacher (Universität Innsbruck), Andrea Pavoni (University of Westminster), Mimmo Perrotta (Università di Bergamo), Katerina Polychroniadi (freelance), David Pontille (CNRS), Riccardo Pronzato (ILUM), Federico Rahola (Università di Genova), Eduardo Romanos (Universidad Complutense de Madrid), Elisabetta Risi (IULM), Giuseppe Scandurra (Università di Ferrara), Peter Schaefer (freelance), Giovanni Semi (Università di Torino), Teresa Stoppani (Leeds Beckett University), Simone Tulumello (University of Lisbon), Isacco Turina (Università di Bologna), Piero Zanini (ENSA Paris-La Villette).